Network Monitor for NON-experts!

Aug 5, 2009 at 7:29 PM
Edited Aug 5, 2009 at 7:31 PM

I've been using sniffers of various sorts for many years.  I know my way around protocol analysis; that's not an issue. 

But NetMon has a serious user interface problem that makes it difficult to use by people who are non-expert, not in protocol analysis, but in using NetMon itself.  It's a needless discouragement preventing more people from using what is otherwise not a bad program.  And it's a _major_ issue for people -- like small business consultants with an eye on the clock --  who don't have hours to sit around discovering how to use new software.

The issue is filters.  It is a pain in the butt trying to set up filters so one can focus on the traffic you're interested in.  All you have is that little window to type in filter strings.  No GUI, no wizard, no obvious pick list.  And the help for the filters is almost non-existent.  Just try to find a syntax definition.  For comparison, have a look at the program TracePlus.  It'll do practically anything you want for filtering, with a very useable GUI interface.

If you think I'm complaining too much, it may be because you're an expert.  Sorry, you don't qualify. 

It should be possible to install NetMon for the first time and, within a few minutes, have a network trace of selected traffic by type and address.  The only thing preventing that is the user interface.

IMNSHO, the single most important thing Network Monitor needs, to encourage greater use by more users, is a better user interface for, and better documentation on, using filters.

/kenw

Aug 14, 2009 at 5:12 PM

We do understand there's some more room to make it really simply for people to create filters.  In fact this is one thing that Network Monitor 2.x did better in some regards.  But here are some helpful tips for creating filters today.